Home > NIMH Hubs


AFFIRM is one of 4 hubs funded by the National Institute of Mental Health (part of the National Institutes of Health in the USA). These are:

AFFIRM: Sub-Saharan Africa (Ethiopia, Ghana, Malawi, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe).

SHARE: the South Asian Hub for Advocacy, Research and Education on Mental Health (Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka). See the SHARE Brochure for more information.

RedeAmericas: Network for Mental Health Research in the Americas (Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia and USA). Click here for more information.

PaM-D: Partnerships for Mental Health Development in sub-Saharan Africa (Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia and South Africa).

The first annual meeting of the hubs was held in Cape Town from 8 - 11 August 2012 (participants shown in the photo below), and the second one in Santiago, Chile, from 4-7 September 2013. The meetings provide a good forum for sharing ideas and developing networks.